You are here: BCS Concerts / Reviews

Birkenhead Choral Society
Patron: Dame Lorna Muirhead DCVO, DBE

Conductor: David Holroyd ~ Chair: Collette Byrne ~ Rehearsal Accompanist: Jon Barton

Musical Director: David Holroyd
Chair: Collette Byrne
Rehearsal Accompanist: Jon Barton

Choral music since 1956

Birkenhead Choral Society
Patron: Dame Lorna Muirhead DCVO, DBE

Conductor: David Holroyd ~ Chair: Collette Byrne ~ Rehearsal Accompanist: Jon Barton

Musical Director: David Holroyd
Chair: Collette Byrne
Rehearsal Accompanist: Jon Barton

Choral music since 1956

Read About Some Of Our Past Concerts...

9 Mar 2014

  • Concert - St Saviour's Church Oxton
  • March 2014
  • G F Handel - The Messiah

The concert was a sell out and as more people arrived seats were made available in the Baptistry at the rear of the church. Part of the appeal was that we were performing the full work with no cuts at all. It was clearly appreciated with a standing ovation at the end of the performance. We are delighted to quote from many of our audience . . .


9 Mar 2013

  • March 16th 2013
  • Joint Concert at the Liverpool Philharmonic Hall with Formby Choral Society and boys from Merchant Taylors’ School Crosby.
  • Walton - Belshazzar’s Feast & Jenkins - The Armed Man

We were delighted to get some thank you letters from our guests at the Philharmonic Hall concert:

Dr Nicholas Jedynakiewicz, Deputy Lieutenant, Merseyside, said " . . . the care and attention to hospitality was splendid - it was an extraordinary privilege to have an internationally recognised cardiologist as our attendant for the evening! . . . " (Thank you Bob Arnold) . . . " . . . The performances were truly outstanding. The quality and ability of all the choirs was most professional and accomplished"


9 Jul 2012

  • Concert - St Saviour's Church Oxton
  • June 2012
  • A rousing selection of choral music celebrating the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Year and the 2012 Olympics

 

" . . . . . Saturday was a fabulous evening of music and celebration at St Saviour's to mark the Queen's Jubilee.

Thank you for asking me to be part of it. "

Dame Lorna Muirhead DBE, President of Birkenhead Choral Society


11 Feb 2011

  • A Celebration of the Life of Michael Hamm - Friday February 11th 2011
  • Held at St Saviour’s Church Oxton
  • Hosted by Birkenhead and Hoylake Choral Societies.

The following review appeared in the March 2011 edition of the Wirral Champion in the ‘Dowager’s Diary'
written by June Lancelyn Green MBE

St Saviour's Church, Oxton, was the setting for a memorial to a great Wirral Resident, Michael Hamm. Two conductors, Jim Wrightson (who played the organ) and David Holroyd with baton came together with the Birkenhead Choral Society and the Hoylake Choral Society (alphabetical order) to celebrate in a concert of some of Michael's favourite music. We were welcomed by David Horton. Tony Woodhead gave a spoken tribute to this distinguished musician and conductor, who studied in Rome and Venice, has played for Her Majesty and been associated with many choirs. Soloists were Gordon Pullin, tenor (conductor of Hoylake for two years) and Paddy Latham, bass, accompanied by Pamela Clements.


29 Jun 2008

  • Concert - "Fairly French"
  • Birkenhead Choral Society
  • Performed on Sunday June 29th 2008 at St Saviour’s Church, Oxton

For those used to attending concerts by local choral societies, the expectation is that there will more often than not be an organist accompanying the singers. Many of us then who attended Birkenhead Choral Society’s recent concert at St Saviour’s church were duly amazed to find not just one organist performing – but three! This however was an unusual concert in more ways than one, in that the evening given to the music of predominantly 19th Century French composers.


Page 1 of 2 > >>

Birkenhead Choral Society brochure cover

Reviewers

If you would like to submit a review one of our performances, or know of a published review that could be included here, please let us know...

Website by TDL Web Developments